Malaga to be home to Andalucia’s third National Park, government announces

Malaga ranked in top five ‘Best Airport Transfers’ in Europe
November 20, 2017
New budget airline routes announced from Birmingham to Malaga and Mallorca from €40
November 29, 2017

MALAGA province will be home to Andalucia’s third National Park.

The Sierra de las Nieves, in Malaga, will join Sevilla’s Doñana and the Sierra Nevada parks in receiving the maximum environmental protection by mid-2018.

According to Maria Garcia, Secretary of State for the environment, the 13 villages surrounding the new park will benefit from the tourism boost granted by the prestigious title.

The Sierra de las Nieves is located in the hills behind Marbella and to the east of the Ronda-Marbella road.

The park centres on Mount Torrecilla (1909m) and covers an area of 30km by 20km, or 18,530 hectares.

Spain currently has 15 National Parks.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share This